top of page
Writer's picturePam

Taking the Lilliputbahn Through the Vienna Vineyards


Vienna has the largest vineyard of any city in the world. The undulating hillsides within its borders produce some of the finest wines Europe has to offer. There are quite a few ways to visit them and grab a great view of the bustling city on the Danube below. Question is - how much scenery would you like and how adventurous are you with going off the beaten track?



The first time I was in Vienna, I invested in a six-day ticket with Vienna Pass for $150. For a museum nut who really likes to be above ground to see a new city, I think it is worth it. But, my subsequent trips to Vienna have left me super comfortable with its impressive transportation network. I am nowhere near an expert but have become quite adept at getting around with just a few lines that hit the famous Ringstrasse that encircles the main district. The D tram is a fave. 


Anyway, I got to the highest point (Kahlenberg) the first time by taking the tourist bus up. It was nice listening to the history of the road and it being built at a time when so many men needed jobs between the two world wars. The second time, I took the 38 tram to Grinzinger Straße and transferred to the 38A bus at a cost of about $2.50 each way.



The third time definitely was the charm. I learned about the Heurigen Express and was thrilled! I took the D tram to its terminus in Nussdorf and paid ten euro for a round trip tour into the Vienna Woods and through the vineyards up to the Kahlenberg overlook.


The trip through the vineyards was amazing! The route was a bit rough but that was part of the charm.


Reaching the summit of Kahlenberg was bittersweet. The views were spectacular but my thirty minutes through the valley were up.


I spent an hour or so enjoying the views and ate the sandwich I brought with me so I wouldn’t spend too much in the restaurant. After a short hike on what became a wild goose chase in finding an old castle tower, I headed back down the “mountain“ on the Lillipubahn and then got on the waiting D tram in Nussdorf to head back into the city center.


The next time I go, I look forward to stopping in Grinzing to visit the wineries. That section of the city is charming and a wonderful way to spend an afternoon in the summer or fall.


So, when you decide to go to Kahlenberg, should you...

Save or Splurge?

When it comes to this fun and efficient way to reaching one of the most beautiful places in Vienna...

Definitely Splurge!

Here is the link if you’d like more information: http://www.liliputbahn.com/vhe.htm


5 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page