top of page
Writer's picturePam

How I Fly to Europe for Under $200


My favorite new airline is Norwegian! Next week, I am flying from Fort Lauderdale to Paris's Charles de Gaulle airport for only $180. This will be my third trip with this carrier and I look forward to it every time. The planes used for their long-haul flights are new and use the latest available aircraft technology.


The keys to flying these "no frills" airlines and liking it are pretty simple:


1. Know before you go.

Usually bad reviews for airline travel stem from people's expectations. Before salivating too much over the price, go to the airline's website and study "the extras". Almost every airline charges extra for checked bags these days. In addition, many also charge for seat assignments. Norwegian goes a little farther by charging for water and food. Now, before you get too excited... think about how much that costs. Would you rather pay $50 extra for the ticket or just fill up your portable water bottle at the airport before boarding the flight and packing your own food? Fifty bucks can be a pretty nice meal in Paris.


Personally, I like the choices they have for purchase on the plane. I didn't spend more than $25 on my last 10-hour flight including water. I also am not particular about my seat assignment for that price. I check in as soon as I can or get to the airport early and kindly mention that a window seat is safer for me. (Sorry, I can't share my excuse - it is personal. But, if you have one, tell them!) And, regarding baggage... you need to learn to pack light.


2. Only take a carry-on.

If you want to save yourself a lot of frustration, know exactly what the dimensions and weight limits are for each airline you travel. Yup, I just said weight. It is very common for European airlines to have weight restrictions in addition to size requirements for carry-ons. Study the graphic below very carefully. When they say 10 kg (22 pounds), that is the total weight for BOTH bags.


In inches, the rolling bag is: 55x40x23". The personal bag is 21x15x9". 10kg equals 22 pounds.

Frequent flyer tip: If my bags weigh a titch too much at the airport, I explain that I have medications that I need to travel with. If you have a special condition that requires you to be with certain drugs, food or other items, let them know. But, please, do not take advantage! You may ruin this for other Baby Boomers who need the extra help.


3. Don't pack what you can find there.

I am not going to tell you what you should and should not pack. That will be another blog post. But, I will encourage you to keep in mind that (unless you are going to a third world country) most of what you are taking may be purchased or provided for you. It goes without saying that travel size toiletries should always be considered, but their weight can add up.


Also, think about what you will be shopping for. If you are flying to Paris to buy new clothes, wear the clothes you buy there! Don't pack things that will become redundant. And, if the weather changes unexpectedly, you can always pop into an H and M to grab a sweater or a tee shirt. In Vienna, I love thrifting and can always find a jacket for less than $10 if I need it.


4. Don't bring back what you don't want.

Really seasoned travelers can pass up buying the heavy souvenirs so returning home with a carry-on won't be an issue. But, if you do like to shop, consider mailing things home or paying for the checked bag ahead of time - it is cheaper. But first, decide what you could probably leave behind. Last summer as I was departing Krakow for home, I knew I would never again wear a pair of jeans and some tops I was sick of. So I dropped them off at a thrift shop. Any half empty tubes or bottles were thrown away.


Dress like Joey!

5. Wear your heaviest outfit.

If you need to bring boots, wear them... never pack them. Same with coats and sweaters. Wear everything to check in, then shed the layers for security check. I noticed that some airports have scales at the Norwegian counters before you board the plane, so put the layers back on. After that, your bags won't be weighed any more. You can change those heavy jeans into comfy leggings and kick off your boots.


If you decide to travel Norwegian, please let me know how your trip went! I would love to know if you enjoy it as much as I do.

17 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page