top of page
Writer's picturePam

Making Friends as a Solo Traveler


Last week, I called for a Lyft and was given the choice of traveling to my destination by myself or use the less expensive ride share option and possibly split the backseat with a stranger. Although the difference was less than a few dollars, I thought of my upcoming trip to Paris and what a few extra euro could buy. So, I hit the budget button and a few minutes later I hopped into a car where a cheerful 25-year-old from California was sitting with all her travel accoutrements gathered around her... a small backpack and a bag containing her favorite blanket and neck pillow. We immediately struck up a conversation and found that we saw eye-to-eye on topic after topic. In my head, I was secretly high-fiving everything she said! My new BFF was killing time before a late flight home and was on her way to Fort Lauderdale institution, Shooters,  to soak up her last rays of Florida sunshine with a few cocktails. After what I felt was a comfortable amount of time for both of us to size each other up and determine neither of us were, well, crazy, I asked if it was ok to join her. Her eyes lit up and I could tell she was happy for the company. We took two seats at the bar and shared our lives and travel experiences like twins separated at birth. Within half an hour we were friends on Facebook and when she had to leave to catch her flight, we knew we weren’t just passing ships in the night. Even though we might never meet again, cyberspace would keep us connected. Could every chance encounter end this way? No. First, you have to be willing to strike up a conversation. If you are on the timid side, ride shares are a safe place to do this. The person can’t walk away from you and the trip is usually too short to die from embarrassment. Also, chances are that neither of you will be getting off at the same place. No awkward commitment issue there. We were both solo female travelers - that was part of the key to feeling comfortable so quickly. If she was meeting a group of friends, I never would have imposed unless she insisted. And, we talked about what would have happened if either of us was male. Obviously, that would involve an extra amount of screening. Bottom line, I took the chance of inviting myself after feeling like I had met someone I felt I could be friends with, and both of us were going into a safe, public place where either of us could leave at any time. What is the worst thing that could have happened? She could have said no or, she could have said yes, and I would have had an excellent mojito with a nice person. Either way, I took a chance. Isn’t that what traveling is all about?

14 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page