top of page
Writer's picturePam

The Public Toilets of Paris are Free!


Desperation breeds success! After a long morning of perusing the street markets on a beautiful summer day, I figured out how to use one of the many toilettes on the streets of Paris and... it was life-changing!


OK, I might be exaggerating a bit but all of us have been there - walking around running errands or getting from one lovely attraction to another when that urge hits and there is just nowhere to go.


Yesterday, I tackled this challenge straight on and now you can, too! The instructions are in French, Spanish AND English!


l loved the explanation of how the unit gets cleaned but was a bit trepidatious when the door opened to welcome me to this...


I swear I thought I heard angels singing as I stepped inside. The door closed behind me like something out of Star Trek and I turned around to see this...


... real toilet paper. Tears of relief came to my eyes. I didn’t have any change but, hallelujah, she didn’t ask for any. Yes... there was a recorded message from a female voice. I was too happy to pay attention and translate it. I like to think it said something like:


”Welcome all who enter! Please relieve yourself in the comfort of this special place and go on to have a spectacular day in the miracle that is Paris!”


I finished my visit by cleaning my hands - of course - then checked myself in the mirror and pushed the button to open the door and walked out into a whole new world.


The sun was shining, the birds were singing and a refreshing breeze blew through the trees... for I knew that the key to relief in the city of lights was a secret no more! And as if Paris heard me, I walked around my new discovery and saw this...


The magic button to the beginning of more hydration! I drank it in knowing that I would never have to wonder through Paris thirsty ever again.







11 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page